Tags

, ,

So, I enjoyed a nice lunch with a new friend of mine the other day.  It was lovely to get acquainted with someone I should have known for two years, but, for what ever reason, I just met two weeks ago.

As we were parting ways, I talked about how we eat out so much and how I am supposed to change our habits by eating vegetarian 4 days a week.

This was while leaving a bbq joint, carrying a large brown bag with dinner inside -pork and beef.

The drive home I was justifying (in my head) my point of view with this veggie thing and how I have been stepping up to the plate with small changes.

Last night, we enjoyed salad with chicken.  Normally, a piece of lettuce in a bowl full of chicken and fries.  Last night, it was a bowl full of leafy greens with a dollop of chicken and no fries.

Monday, we enjoyed Publix subs.  Normally, it would be the hefty Italian with banana peppers and vinegar.  Mark put the veggie works on my half.  I bit into a tomato, pulled it off, and pulled off the green peppers before they came near my mouth.  Everything else veggie stayed with a large dose of wine vinegar.  Oh, yea, I even took off the top bun.

Although this may seem a bit trite and a way around the point of what we need to do, slowly we are changing.  Slowly- by eating less in general, by adding more fresh vegetables in places where frankly they should be, and taking bites into the “yucky” ones trying to embrace the plant world.

Browsing through a cook book, I found a recipe for Ratatouille Salad.  This is no lie (it shocked the hell out of me), I actually said, “This sounds good and we will have to try it.”  Mark and the kids said, “Yea, that does sound good.”  Seriously, I was looking for a new cake recipe (page 64) and stumbled on Vegetable Salads (page 284).  What would possess me to SAY OUT LOUD and get in return that this sounds good when what I wanted was a white cake with chocolate frosting?

The Turtle always wins the race…

Ratatouille Salad
Betty Crocker’s Cookbook c.1988

1 small eggplant, cubed and steamed, cool
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1 medium zucchini, thinly sliced
1 small onion, sliced and separated into rings
1 small green pepper, chopped
1/3 cup snipped parsley

Mix all together, toss with Basil Dressing.  Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours.  Serve on lettuce leaves.

Basil Dressing

1/3 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried basil leaves
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Shake all ingredients in tightly covered container.

Ratatouille Salad

