Tags

, ,

Yesterday, I decided to make cookies for my BFFiF’s daughter who has been struggling with studing for a test she has to take to get into college.  I wanted to help in some way, and figured making her favorite cookie would give her a boost of happiness.

She was absolutely delighted with the suprise box of butterfly and heart shaped spritz cookies.  The note stated- “Filled with Confidence!”  She was jumping and screaming and sooooo tickled that I would make these for her.

Yesterday on Facebook I read about a woman who chose to “give back” for her 29th birthday by doing 29 Random Acts Of Kindness.  She was inspired from a blog she previously read and though it was a great idea.

iambaker via myblessedlife via mixmingleglow

I never thought about writing this down as a goal, it just sort of happens.  Buying someone dessert without them knowing; paying extra at a toll booth; helping with groceries; I don’t know, just stuff throughout a day that when an opportunity presents itself, I step in and do.

The more I thought about it, I realized we totally live in a ME society, and the effort of stepping out of our little box to actually do something for someone without the fear of getting killed or ridiculed, well, is old-fashioned and foreign.

Most of the time, it’s just a matter of being polite, or smiling, opening a door, eye contact.  Seriously simple little acts of kindness that take absolutely no time or effort, but each thing packs a punch.

Today, I stopped at McDonalds (agggh) to get a quick something for Nick before taking him back to school.  As I pulled up to get my order, the lady said, “I made too many Frappé’s, so I am giving you the extra for free.”  Are you kidding me?!  Wow, I am so delighted!!  Nick wondered what I was going to do with it, as he was eyeing up the hot fudge and whipped cream.  I told him I was going to put it in the freezer for later.

We got to the school, and as I was leaving my car, I decided to share my Frappé with someone in the office.  As I signed Nick in, I told the secretary that McDonald’s gave me an extra coffee and I wanted to share it.  The lady was stunned and delighted.

Here is my point.  I would have never shared the story about Rachel, I just did it.  I wouldn’t have recapped a facebook notice, I would have forgotten it by now.  But, with the McDonald’s thing this morning, I realized this wasn’t just a fluke.  What comes around, goes around.  Become aware of your surroundings and make Random Acts Of Kindness an intergal part of your day.  Pay it forward… Spread the delight!

