Tags

, , ,

What a lovely Mother’s Day weekend.  It started Friday night with my feet propped up, tv to Dr. Oz and a nap that lasted until morning.  Saturday featured an incredible dinner at one of my favorite Greek restaurants Mykanos.  Woke up Sunday to the beautiful chimes of the kids fighting to make me coffee.

The Tradition

My beautiful assortment of flowers!

Kids decorated a Publix cake!!

After the coffee drama, smiles for everyone!

The precious sentiment

Nick had called my cousin Sat. to make arrangements to cash in on his and Sophie’s Christmas gift.  It was decided they would go Sunday afternoon.  Mother’s Day.  Really?  If I wanted my Mother’s Day to be kid-less, I would have made plans to go golfing.  Instead, I opted out for a kumbaya with the fam.

What to do?  The gift from Patty and Becky was to treat the kids to ZOOm Air in Sanford- with the option of date night for Mark and me, or all go together.  Frankly, date night sounded incredible, but, with Nick cashing in on Mother’s Day, we decided to all go together. (Tee times were already set…)

So off to Sanford!  Knowing NOTHING about what this entailed, when we went to purchase the tickets, we figured, since we’re here, we are doin’ it all!

We’re Ready for the Rain Forrest

Simple, simple.  Get harnessed, listen closely to the safety lecture, the how to manage 3 clips hanging from your waist, how to stuff gloves in your pants, blah blah blah.  All of this being said in front of what we all thought was the course.  Once we all passed the “trial run”, they walked us across the street to where the real course began.  What we thought was the beginning was actually the “kiddie section.”  Holy Moly.  Across the street was a bit different- bigger and higher, uh ha.

Basic Training

To use some of the verbage the website used that was not read until just now, (accents added by me)…

  • tree to tree
  • rope bridges
  • suspended
  • canopy of the forest
  • through the trees and view the world
  • tree top

    Nick, just the beginning, ah huh

I am 45, a rolly coaster, fun-loving, adventurous, non-nerdy kinda mom.  I think I can hold my own when it comes to having a great time.  Seriously, people like me and think I am fun, kids aside.  I love doing things off the cuff, spur of the moment, wild and crazy stuff, swear!

Kill the Mutha begins

This pushed me to my limits.  I am afraid of heights.  Have been since I was 5 and was pushed off a HIGH dive from the swim instructor Jan from “Jan and Her Little Ducklings”.  Yep, I TRUST NO ONE when it comes to me being any higher than my 5’9″ slender (hellooo, my blog…) stature.

Kill the Mutha continues

I Became One with Gayle King, Oprah’s Best Friend

Was this day all about me especially when this was a gift for Sophie and Nicholas?  Damn Straight.  Teaches the kids a lesson about not being selfish- especially on the only day (well, my birthday too) of the year dedicated to me because I gave birth to two kids 11 months apart and made it to today being the “mother of the year” and all.  Pinky swear, that was easier than this…

Mark and Sophie coming down from a zip line, onto another zip line.

Patty, Sophie and Nick high…

Patty nearing the tree tops

We are working our way up through the trees, higher and higher to reach the summit…

The second meltdown begins…

These ladders are straight up.  I mean, straight up. Once you’re at the peak, you clip your life onto a cable and jump.  Over a half hour it took to get Nicholas and me to leave the safety of the plank.  Tears flowing, lots of tears flowing and the tree vibrating from the two of us shaking from fear.

This is when I realized that this truly was Kill the Mutha’s Day.  Kill me now.  I ain’t going, nor is my baby.  NO FREAKIN’ WAY.

With the calm pep talk from Mark, Nick zipped.  With the calm talk from Mark and the realization from the guy below we had spent a long time hanging onto the tree when we only were supposed to get 5 minutes- I jumped.

No breeze, no jubilation, just “What the hell did I just do and how the hell am I going to get off this thing?”

Did it!!  Accomplished!!  I QUIT!

This isn’t me, it’s Sophie.  But, in my head I feel as though this could have been me.  Sliding gracefully over the passing the cars, lake, palm trees covered in poison ivy on the Grande Pooh Pah of the Zip Lines.  But, no, I’m sure I looked like a flailing whale out of water spinning, swearing, showing skin.  Let us pretend, though.

Would I do this again?  That day- NO.  One week later looking at the pictures and writing about the experience- You betcha!

My kids really weren’t out to kill me this day.  They actually gave me a gift greater than I could have ever dreamed of.  I faced a fear I have carried for 40 years.  I killed the mutha, and my trust in my husband grew.  My love for my children grew.  It was a zippity doo dah day and one I would do again.  Cause I’m…

45, a rolly coaster, fun-loving, adventurous, non-nerdy kinda mom.  I think I can hold my own when it comes to having a great time.  Seriously, people like me and think I am fun, kids aside.  I love doing things off the cuff, spur of the moment, wild and crazy stuff, swear!

