Tags

, , , , ,

I never looked over there in the produce department.  I never even walked past this section.  Today, however, there was this sale and it intrigued me.  Buy 2 bags for $4.00.  Cautiously I walked over to “that” section and picked up my first ever bag of kale.

What the Kale?

I have been on a search for “What in Heaven’s Name Do You Do With a 1 Pound Bag of Chopped Leafy Greens That is Not Spinach?”  In the south, leafy greens usually get sautéed in bacon grease and served with pepper vinegar.  Not having that.

What the Kale?

Chips.  Love chips!  Once I started down this Google search path, I found 2,000 ways to make kale chips.  The bottom line to kale chippages is:

  1. Single layer on baking sheet
  2. Olive oil and salt
  3. 350* from 20-30 minutes
  4. Beware, they burn easily.

What I found to be true is:

  1. Bagged kale gets quite puny once baked
  2. Tends to be salty
  3. 350* 17 minutes
  4. Better when it’s completely dried out -aka no mushy/springy parts
  5. Taste stays with you long after its gone.

What the Kale?

The good news is that we all ate it.  However, it’s not up to my standard of something I would add to my repertoire of snacks.  Hard to think this could replace chips with dip.  But, it is a new green veggie that we ate.  It just needs something and I don’t know what it is.  Maybe bacon grease and pepper vinegar…

Kale Chippage 4H

2 Handfuls of clean Kale
1 Teaspoon Olive Oil
1/2 Teaspoon Kosher Salt
1 Teaspoon Pixie Dust

Mix well.  Single layer on baking sheet.  Bake 350* for 17 minutes.  Take out of oven before you “really” smell it.  It should be crumbly crispy, not burnt.

She’s better at explaining this than I am.
http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2010/03/recipe-for-roasted-kale-chips-with-sea.html

