Tags

, , , ,

Searching through the pantry, I found bits of this and that scattered throughout my baking shelves.  Half package of dates, handful of oats, open bags of chocolate chips, a smidge of flour….  Can you see where I am going with this?

bits and pieces

I felt an overwhelming sensation to purge.  Just clean out that particular section of my house/kitchen/pantry/shelf.  Literally just pull out those few things that all of a sudden made my pantry “messy.”

Ahh, side slap my hands to my cleaning accomplishment and proceed to figure out what to do with this stuff.  I don’t have enough of anything make a recipe straight up, but, it’s all I gots.

bits and pieces

For the recipe on the open date package, I didn’t have enough cinnamon, dates, oats…

bits and pieces

I found a recipe card for chocolate chip oatmeal cookies.

Bits and Pieces

I didn’t have enough chips.

bits and pieces

So, I

  • Added more flour to make up some of the oatmeal difference
  • Used cinnamon sugar and took out a bit of the regular sugar
  • Divided the dough and dumped the dates in one bowl and the assorted chocolate chips in the other bowl.

bits and pieces

What I found to be true:

  • Baking is NOT an exact science as perceived
  • I hate cinnamon with chocolate
  • I need to clean the shelves/pantry/kitchen/house more often.

bits and pieces

Oatmeal Date and Chocolate Chip Cookies 4H

1 stick of Butter
1/2 cup Crisco
1 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1 teaspoon Vanilla
– CREAM

2 cups Flour
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
2 teaspoon Cinnamon Sugar
2 cups Old Fashion Oats
-SIFT, MIX INTO WET INGREDIENTS

8 oz. Dates
6 oz. Mini Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
6 oz. Milk Chocolate Chips
-SPLIT DOUGH IN HALF.  MIX DATES IN ONE PART, CHIPS IN OTHER.  DROP TEASPOON BALL OF DOUGH ONTO UNGREASED COOKIE SHEET.

350* 12 MIN

